Villanelle #3

​As my good friend, Jane Doughertysuggested, in Classic villanelle third line rhymes with the first one, so I changed my last one, Villanelle #2,na bit and came up with this. I kept changes to bare minimum so that they can be compared on the basis of just that one factor.

                                      ~

Hold head high within a cage,

Or look down as I soar through the sky, 

Grow up or be a kid beyond his age?


On the sight of oppression I rage,

Scream and bleed, I’d rather die,

Than to hold head high within a cage.


But I wish I could meet a mage

With his white dazzling magic, clarify,

Grow up or be a kid beyond his age?

My responsibilities, I carefully gauge,

To fulfill them, with all might, I try,

To hold head high within a cage.


But it’s not an easy war to wage,

The rusting cage runs my soul dry,

I ponder again, Grow up or be a kid beyond his age?


I am in need of the skills of an old sage

To let go of the dreams right before my eye.

All this to hold head high within a false cage!

Neither growing nor being a kid beyond his age!

                                   ~

For those of you who don’t know what villanelle is – villanelle (also known as villanesque)[1] is a nineteen-line poetic form consisting of five tercets followed by a quatrain.

And the link to Wikipedia.

4 thoughts on “Villanelle #3

Leave a Reply

