Day – 52 – Marriage – Villanelle

​That moment in the history of our life

Will forever be a secret we hide

Till our lives comes to an end and beyond!


There might come many a strife.

Remember, before it breaks the vows by which we abide,

That moment in the history of our life!


Sometimes, My words might comes as knife.

Do not fret, my love will protect you like dragon’s hide,

Till our lives comes to an end and beyond!


One day, We will make our own life,

Something precious to make us smile wide,

Like that moment in the history of our life!


There’s no life without a day of rife,

But we will pass it, laughing and screaming, like a roller coaster ride,

Till our lives comes to an end and beyond!


It maybe just a word, Wife,

But I’ll treasure, that day we had our hands and lives tied,

That moment in the history of our life,

Till our lives comes to an end and beyond!

                                   ~

Written in response to dVerse – Villanelle! Click here for the post or here to submit or read poems!

First of all thanks to Frank for hosting this amazing Form and his detailed post. It was very helpful. By far, this is the form I enjoyed writing most. I would strongly recommend everyone to try this.

Villanele – villanelle (also known as villanesque)[1] is a nineteen-line poetic form consisting of five tercets followed by a quatrain.

As for the meter and for my defense, The villanelle has no established meter,[23] although most 19th-century villanelles have used trimeter or tetrameter and most 20th-century villanelles have used pentameter. So I,  a 21st century poet, used whatever meter suited my thoughts wherever! Hope you enjoy!

                                ~

Part of my #The100DaysOfPoetryLearning project. You can read all of my poems here.

30 thoughts on “Day – 52 – Marriage – Villanelle

  1. Love your comment above about the restraints making it more enjoyable to write – I agree. This form is one of my favorites. You have expressed such beautiful sentiments in your words. Always a pleasure to visit your work, my friend!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! I’m almost sad that I didn’t know about this form sooner and really sad that I started writing poetry so late! You and your feedbacks are always welcome and much appreciated, thank you so much!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Nice villanelle of love and marriage and beyond. I liked how love protects like a “dragon’s hide”. I agree that what meter one uses doesn’t matter. Those repetitive lines seem to me to be its main characteristic. Regardless, the sound is what counts and even more so the message.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Very beautiful story. So emotional too… The way it was written was astonishing. The flow was great, I loved the word choice, and the concept had me trapped. One of the best poems I’ve ever read. 5/5
    I would be grateful if you could check out some of my work too 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

