Y for Youth

Everyone seems to think that youth is between teenage – ’till you get a kid‘. This results in phrase like enjoy the youth while it lasts. But I think, youth lasts until we enjoy it. Only for body, there’s an age and peak, but for mind and life, it’s not the case.

I’m 23, slowly approaching the till you get a kid side on the scale. But I think I’m getting younger drastically. When I think about my life, from first cry to few years ago, all I could see is a blur. It might be my failing memory, but for me it says something else.

A blur of pain, pleasure, mistakes and success. There was no grip or conscience or self awareness. I was an active kid, but my life was dull. I was doing so many things, but I wasn’t doing what I loved. I was chasing down so many dreams but they all were mirage of expectations from my family and surroundings.

When I realized what I want from life, that’s when my youth began. It’s been growing ever since. The fire of youth won’t go out until we choose to chase our dreams.

Follow your heart, that’s where the fountain of youth lies.

                                  ~

Part of my A_z-challenge. You can read all of my poems here.

Leave a Reply

