Q for Quest

In medieval fantasy novels,  The protagonist goes on a honorable quest, mostly with a skilled, eccentric, good hearted group. They never  reach their goal directly. They face numerous challenge which they galliantly and honorably face. With each challenge, they gain something which is essential to reach their goal.

I don’t want nor going to talk about how fantasy novels lack originality. I’m going to talk about how it can be usefully applied in our approach to life.

I’m going to call this, The Quest view.

Whenever I face difficulties in life, small or big, a decision to make, a dilemma, I unplug myself from my life. I put myself in the place of a reader. A reader of this novel about an ordinary guy who is on a quest to became a legend.So what’s the best decision this guy can make which will do justice to this story, keep things interesting, be responsible, all while taking a step towards the final goal.

It’s not some unfounded escapist thought. With every challenge we face in this life, just like the quests, we gain something. It might not be obvious like an enchanted sword, but we do gain. Strength, knowledge, maturity and most importantly experience.

So next time, when there’s fork or pit in the road ahead, think about how to cross it like the protagonist of your very own story.

                                ~

Part of my A_z-challenge. You can read what I have written so far here.

                               ~

Original photo by Nik Shuliahin.

Check out his and other amazing works at Unsplash

2 thoughts on “Q for Quest

Leave a Reply

