Day – 31 – One more! 

Slap! 

Among the bustling noises
Of shops and carts,
Shouting and screaming,
A clear shriek sound

Muffled scream
A sarcastic voice
Cruel and coarse
Slap!


I turn and spin
Flowing through the crowd
Pushing, apologizing
My legs take a run
Too late
Slap!

My eyes catch the shadows
Of the streets being filled
Where the broken glasses lay
A broken heart, minutes ago

I failed
One more bangle broken
Hopefully not her will
One more neck wrangled
Along with her dreams
One more arm crushed
Under his tyrannical feet
I failed

One more girl beaten! 

                                   ~

Part of my #The100DaysOfPoetryLearning project. You can read all of my poems here.

                                  ~

Original photo by Jilbert Ebrahimi.

Check out his and other amazing works at Unsplash

Leave a Reply

