Day – 28 – Gift

Mom’s tasty foods

And the Dad’s costly goods
With the Sister’s silly feuds
I leave home

A healthy bike to reach
The warm sunny beach
Where beauty takes away my speech
The nature welcomes me

My lover’s warm kiss
With Friend’s care is a bliss
Blinded by the world, I go amiss
Yet I nourish amidst people

I plunder the love
Life alike
Cutting trees
Polluting seas
As I please

Lessons remain
When will I learn
Nature isn’t a right granted
But a gift enchanted   

                                    ~

Written in response to the prompt ‘Gift’ from to dVerse, the virtual pub for poets.Check the post to know the rules or the collection directly to submit your poems or just to read some. 

                                   ~

Original photo by Tim Marshall.

Check out his and other amazing works at Unsplash

31 thoughts on “Day – 28 – Gift

    1. Thank you so much! I’m glad you liked it. It’s more about words than poems, sometimes when we feel there’s no justice we can do to a beauty with words, all we can do is stay silent and take it in. Thank you for reading!

      Like

  1. I enjoyed this poem very much, especially how you twisted the growing antipathy with the narrator to a sympathy for the future narrator who will realise that the beauty that takes his breath away isn’t up for grabs and needs protecting. The picture is extremely symbolic, to me anyway—the Red Hand of Ulster forming a heart. Beautiful message.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! I’m glad you enjoyed it. We don’t really take a second and appreciate the things which we have in life from family to the nature! And I think everything in this life have to be earned, not just plucked out of nature. I love that image and I use it in a lot of my posts, if you want you can check out the person who took it, details are at the bottom! Thank you for taking the time to read and appreciate! 😁

      Like

    1. Thank you so much! I’m glad that you liked it, I always feel guilty even when I enjoy love of others, because even if it’s our family, they have to be appreciated not taken for granted.

      Like

  2. LOVE the photo! Took me a minute of looking at it to realize the red shapes a hand. Will check out his other works on the link. Thanks for providing! AND, thanks for the post! And you are oh so very right……..a very timely piece given the quandry the president seems to be in whether to join the Paris Accord and support the idea — the scientific evidence – of climate change. The gifts of nature — they abound and may that be so for generations to come.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

