Day – 27 – Not Broken – Haibun Monday

I never chose the broken biscuits. I always disliked them. I pick the perfect ones with no chip or scratch.The choices we make show us who we are. I was a naive kid back then. There’s a naivety in the perfect little things without scars. It’s not the strongest one without the scars, but the one which didn’t face any hardships. It’s not the weakest ones that break, it’s the ones who didn’t give up until the end. There’s a beauty in the failure which comes after our hundred percent. There’s a strength in the broken pieces which held everything together once, So it can be mended and forged in the light of its failure to be born again anew.

The very heat of

Flaws and failures of my past

Forge myself anew

                                  ~

Haibun for Haibun Monday at DVerse, the virtual poet pub. Check the post to know the rules or the collection directly to submit your poems or just to read some. 

Haibun (俳文?, literally, haikai writings) is a prosimetric literary form originating in Japan, combining prose and haiku.

Part of my #The100DaysOfPoetryLearning project. You can read all of my poems here.

                                ~

Original photo by Kyle meck.

Check out his and other amazing works at Unsplash

38 thoughts on “Day – 27 – Not Broken – Haibun Monday

  1. The choices we make show us who we are- that is the foundation of your haibun, what you said about the scars touched me deeply, as I after my haibun I went on to revisit an old poem of mine about scars and your words really touched a raw nerve, love the way your thoughts hit the page.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I like the lessons learned as we go through the challenges of life. This is my favorite part:

    There’s a strength in the broken pieces which held everything together once

    Thanks for joining in ~

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The prompt was amazing, it did all the job. dVerse is such a fun place to hang out. Yes the lessons we learn through the life are as precious as our life itself. Thank you for reading!

      Like

  3. in the first part, I was reminded of our children when they went through the phase of wanting everyone on their plate whole: hot dogs, carrots, etc. And then you moved way beyond that into the realities and lessons of life. Well done.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

