Day – 22 – Thief – Petrarchan Sonnet

It was a night of no mercy

There wasn’t a ray of light left

In that darkness happened a theft

Like the ship stranded in the black Sea

Quick to notice the beacon, I see

your little hands so deft

Leaving in my chest a cleft

In my mind, an odd peace, free from any controversy


Night drowned in your bright light

For that loss, I cried in joy

You took my heart leaving me empty

In that blinding flash, I witnessed the true beauty

Was this all your ploy?

You run into darkness, lefty, righty


© Jeren Nazuto – All rights reserved.


                                 ~

The Petrarchan sonnet, perfected by the Italian poet Petrarch, divides the 14 lines into two sections: an eight-line stanza (octave) rhyming ABBAABBA, and a six-line stanza (sestet) rhyming CDCDCD or CDEEDE.

                                ~

Original photo by Anthony Delanoix.

Check out his and other amazing works at Unsplash

Leave a Reply

