Day – 16-Substitute

I came late I know

I wasn’t there when you were alone

I had to find my own way to reach you

The one that took me years around


You were happy and cheerful

Close with your group of four

I envied your happiness

I earned for that innocence


I didn’t want to be the fifth

I just needed only you

For I think you deserve better

I was there when they flew their way


Still you earn for them

Treasuring the lost time

But all this time I’m here

Just to be seen by you as a substitute

                                   ~

Original photo by Zachary Nelson.

Check out his and other amazing works at Unsplash

5 thoughts on “Day – 16-Substitute

Leave a Reply

