B for Bravery

I got shoved in to the wall. I don’t understand, why would anyone do that? For speaking loud? That’s crazy. So was that guy, who threatened to cut my belly open. I assumed it’s for speaking out loud, because God knows I didn’t do anything else.

He was drunk I assumed from his struggling words and unstable posture. I hung my head down and his fingers were on my belly, threatening me. The place wasn’t secluded or anything, it was on the side of the road, in front of my school. I just froze there,in fear? Or because it was the smartest thing to do? I can never know.

He went away eventually, left me to stand there, humiliated. I was overcome with an emotion, something unpleasant. I wanted to cry I guess, or I could have wanted, but all I remember now is the hazy memory filled with humiliation,that too I couldn’t be sure. I’m sure of one thing, I wasn’t brave that day.

I could have told him to get out of my face and never touch me again. I wish I could have told that and maybe pushed him away? After all I was bigger than him, even though it’s chubby big, he couldn’t have known that. I don’t remember if I ever have been physically humiliated and intimated like that again. I don’t want to be.

But.

If something like that happens again, I want to hold my head high and look that other guy in the eye and maybe throw a punch at him.

For once, 

I want to be Brave when I’m scared.

                                   ~

Original photo by Connor McSheffrey.

Check out his and other amazing works at Unsplash

One thought on “B for Bravery

  1. Be brave when I am scared. very inspiring.

    I think it is very important to take a strong stand against such behavior in that moment, it not only teaches a jerk an important lesson but it also makes that incidence less traumatic and more inspiring in our memories.

    Love,
    N

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

