Day -5     I was an Eagle once! – Part-2

I was an eagle once


For hours and days, I fly afar

eye upon the place, I was looking for


The mighty sky, where legends born 

The very ground where I had my wings torn


I crashed into the land below

Became one of the normal fellow


I jump, again and again, from the highest peak

It never helped, my future, so bleak


I was an eagle once

Not anymore


Mama said no word

After all, she lost her proud 


I roam around, wasted

Never to fly again, failure, on my face, pasted


I shed no tears, everything is frozen

Until that day, the wind dusted off my reason


For all these years, I wanted the crown

Yet I was ignorant on where is my Domain, I frown


I was an eagle once

Is that who I am? 

                                 ~

I don’t regret my past. I wonder ‘what if?’ sometimes, but never regret. I made my decisions. It made me who I am. If you don’t like, who you are, then change it. Don’t blame the past. 

                                 ~

Original photo by Amber Wolfe

Check out her and other amazing works at Unsplash.

Leave a Reply

